Let’s get crafting!

I seem to have got through quite a few projects lately so I wanted to update my progress on my blog but today I’ll just focus on a couple of them. A few weeks ago I bought a copy of Let’s Get Crafting! Knitting and Crochet (Issue 52 if you’re interested!) because it contained a kit for a fox cushion – which given my last name (and that of the blog) I just couldn’t resist! I’d never bought this magazine before and at almost £8 I thought it seemed a little pricey but in this case it was definitely worth it. I also like the concept of the magazine – it contains several balls of wool and an appropriately sized pair of knitting needles and crochet hook and you can choose from a whole collection of patterns which ones you make, but obviously I went for the “Crafty Fox.”

So here he is…

DSCF1734DSCF1740DSCF1742

He’s positioned on my reading chair on the landing and cheers me up when I walk past!

So with the leftover yarn I had from the kit I wanted to make another one of the patterns from the magazine. A large, bright crochet flower really caught my eye. I wasn’t sure what I’d ever do with it but just had to make it! I did have to buy a new ball of orange yarn as I knew there wasn’t enough left over and didn’t have anything suitable in my stash.

Here you can see it in the un-finished state…

DSCF1720

As it turned out I didn’t have enough of the green yarn to finish the last row of petals either so I had to “re-interpret” the pattern from the magazine! It took a couple of attempts to work out how to complete it with the yarn I had but I managed in the end. The pattern is created by working a chain (which was meant to be a chain of 18 in the green section but I used 16) to make a series of loops behind the last row of petals and then you go around again crocheting different stitches along the loops of chains. The green petals should have been 1dc, 1htr, 1tr, 2dtr, 16trtr, 2dtr, 1tr, 1htr, 1dc (standard UK abbreviations). I used 2 trebles then 3 double trebles at each side instead of 1 and 2 respectively and only 12 triple trebles in the middle but this was enough to ensure the green petals still showed behind the red ones in front. Ta-da…!

DSCF1787

Having started out not knowing what to do with it when it was done I think I will try to find a way to mount it in a box frame so that it can go in my kitchen with the big green cupboard (see first post!) and won’t get damaged. What do you think?

Thanks for reading my blog – I’d love to hear what you think! One last thing before I go – I ordered some yarn to work on a knitted/crocheted patchwork blanket I’ve been working on all year and I got so excited when it arrived…

DSCF1715  It started out life as the Knit and Stitch Collection from Bergere De France but I got bored of getting the magazines each week for £4.50 when I didn’t like the rest of the patterns very much so I’ve decided to free-style it from now on! Look out for my progress in future blog posts.

‘Till next time… happy crafting!

Published by

Sare29

I love to make things, usually from patterns but as my experience increases I'm starting to design my own projects. My main skills are knitting, crochet, cross stitch and needlepoint, and I'm a reasonably handy baker too!

Leave a Reply

