Finally some baking!

Hello again. Hope everyone’s had a good weekend. We watched Sunday Brunch this morning and Lorraine Pascale was on, who’s latest book, “lighter way to bake” we got a few weeks ago. It made us feel like having a go at something. My boyfriend made the plum frangipane tarts last weekend which we had warm with vanilla ice cream and they were lovely, really light and very tasty.
image

Sorry for the rubbish photo!

Today we leafed through the book and both really liked the look of the blueberry and lemoncello drizzle cake, despite the fact that blueberries are so not in season! We didn’t have any lemoncello either so just used the juice from one of the lemons we had to zest for the recipe. Also, I don’t think we’ve quite got used to the oven yet. That or there’s a miss print in the book as we found we had to cook it twice as long as stated in tge recipe – I must have checked on it 5 times! Sadly I have to apologise for the photo again – I have to admit it was a bit of an after-thought as we were so eagre to dive in!
image

It is a very yummy cake so I would certainly recommend it. Very light too. I searched the internet to see if the recipe was available and it turns out it has been published in a Mail online food special here: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/you/article-2432092/Food-special-Blueberry–limoncello-drizzle-cake.html
Has anyone else tried it, or done any other baking this weekend?

In other news – we’ve finished the dining table so look out for a post about that soon!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend. Until next time…

Published by

Sare29

I love to make things, usually from patterns but as my experience increases I'm starting to design my own projects. My main skills are knitting, crochet, cross stitch and needlepoint, and I'm a reasonably handy baker too!

Leave a Reply

