Crochet t-shirt rug

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you had a great Christmas and New Year and that 2014 has got off to a good start for you. I’ve only worked two days so far and the weather’s been pretty rubbish so it’s been a good time to work on some of my works in progress! I’ve finally managed to finish my crocheted t-shirt rug that I’ve been working on sporadically for quite a few months now.

Ta Da - The finished rug
Ta Da – The finished rug

So I started with a post I found on Pintrest here and a pile of my boyfriend’s only t-shirts that he didn’t wear anymore. It’s a pretty easy thing to do once you get the hang of it although it is a bit time consuming. I used this free pattern as a starting point. Here’s my quick guide how it works…

My boyfriend's old t-shirts
My boyfriend’s old t-shirts
Cut the hems off, fold twice but leave 1 inch margin at far side
Cut the hems off, fold twice but leave 1 inch margin at far side
Cut the fabric into strips, stopping at the margin. Cut all the way across only when you reach the sleeves.
Cut the fabric into strips, stopping at the margin. Cut all the way across only when you reach the sleeves.
Open out the fabric and join into one long string by cutting across the margin from one strip to the next.
Open out the fabric and join into one long string by cutting across the margin from one strip to the next.
Pull the fabric into one long string
Pull the fabric into one long string
A big pile of t-shirt spaghetti!
A big pile of t-shirt spaghetti!
Make into a ball
Make into a ball
My different colours of t-shirt yarn ready to crochet
My different colours of t-shirt yarn ready to crochet

The rug is worked in double crochet (UK) throughout in a continuous spiral, increasing where necessary to keep the oval shape and to keep the work flat. I did have to find some extra t-shirts when I realised it was going to end up smaller than I’d wanted. I put the call out to my friends at work and I was offered 3 white t-shirts that had belonged to of one of their husbands and were in the bag to go to the charity shop! I started off using a plastic 12mm hook that I bought on ebay but then for Christmas I was given a set of bamboo hooks and I found it much easier for some reason with the bamboo hook of the same size – it didn’t make my hand hurt so much.

Starting chain
Starting chain
Colour change
Colour change
Finished article!
Finished article!
Up-close
Up-close

I used each ball of yarn until it was nearly finished then tied on the new ball with a figure of eight knot. As I continued on with the new colour I’d catch the knotted ends in the next stitch so they don’t show too much. For the last coloured section at the outside I ended up going back to the bits of left-over t-shirt – the neck and sleeves. To get the most out of these I cut them into short strips, pulled them into string and tied them together as before. This results in a yarn with lots of knots but they can be hidden in the work in the same way as before. When I’d finally almost run out of yarn I finished off and darned the end in the reverse side of the rug. I also made sure that any tails from the knots that were still sticking out were pulled through the stitches on the back to neaten it up. I’m pretty pleased with my finished product which is a great way of up cycling old t-shirts otherwise destined for the charity shop or the bin, into something new and useful for the home! I’m sure you could make other things with this t-shirt yarn, like maybe a pouffe for your sitting room. I’d love to hear your comments and if anyone else has had a go at this sort of method?

Published by

Sare29

I love to make things, usually from patterns but as my experience increases I'm starting to design my own projects. My main skills are knitting, crochet, cross stitch and needlepoint, and I'm a reasonably handy baker too!

6 thoughts on “Crochet t-shirt rug”

  1. This is definitely feeding my crochet addiction…..Did you only use solid shirts? I wonder what it would look like if I used some with printing on them? (Just thinking of what I have in the closet….)

    1. Some of the t-shirts I used had a bit of print on them. Because of the way the fabric naturally curls when you stretch it, the print ends up sort of inside the curl of the yarn. In the finished work you can only see it as variations in shading really. That’s my experience anyway – but why don’t you have a go and see how it turns out. I’d love to see the results!

      1. Thanks for the reply. I think I will try it. It gives me a fun reason to clean out some old clothes and who knows, it may be a cool effect. I’ll definitely share the results of this little adventure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

