New furniture projects!

At the weekend we acquired not one but two new pieces of furniture. I say new but neither is actually what you might call “box fresh” but they’re new to us!

image

The first is a pine dresser which was kindly given to us by friends who no longer need it. I had originally planned to renovate this for sale but I’m now thinking I might keep it to store my craft supplies in the spare room.

image

The second is a vintage tall boy. This is going to be my OH’s new (rather large) bedside cabinet. He doesn’t have enough storage at the moment and so I get frustrated that his side of the room is always messy and I can’t clean it properly! We bought the tall boy from a local charity shop called Pass It On Vintage. I could’ve gone a bit mad in there and bought so much! It was great and I’m sure I’ll be going back at some point.

For the dresser I plan to keep it simple as my craft supplies will provide lots of colour and interest. The plan is to clean it up, sand it only where necessary and then paint with Annie Sloan’s Old White followed by clear wax. At this stage I haven’t decided what to do about the handles. I think I might get some new ones but actually quite like the chunky pine originals.

For the tall boy I plan a complete colour change to go with our bedroom decor. I’m also going to have a go at making my own chalk paint for this one! We’ve had a tester pot of our chosen colour made up (on offer for £1 in B&Q!) and some plaster of paris to mix it with. You could only get it in 2.5kg boxes so it might take me a lifetime to use up! I will also need to sand the tall boy. I’m after a smooth look for this and there are some areas where the current finish Is damaged so it might take some elbow grease!

I have no idea when I’ll manage to find the time to work on these projects with everything else I’ve got on but watch this space! 

Published by

Sare29

I love to make things, usually from patterns but as my experience increases I'm starting to design my own projects. My main skills are knitting, crochet, cross stitch and needlepoint, and I'm a reasonably handy baker too!

Leave a Reply

